Iowa Architectural Foundation 2009 Community Design Excellence

Call for Award Nominations – due June 26, 2009

Posted by CC on April 20th, 2009 11:27 am

The Iowa Architectural Foundation is soliciting nominations for its 2009 Community Design Excellence Awards.

This program, established in 2000, recognizes governmental organizations and/or subdivisions, not-for-profit organizations, and/or local citizens or groups for significant achievements in the promotion of new quality architecture, preservation of existing quality architecture, or community design.

The awards consider a project’s design but the nominated project must demonstrate a positive impact upon the quality of life of a city or neighborhood.

Past winners have included individuals or organizations that have restored historic buildings, rehabilitated older buildings for new uses, and improved public spaces. One winner was recognized for demolishing an abandoned lumber yard and building a new community clinic. A community in southeast Iowa was recognized for converting a former school into the public library. A list of past recipients can be viewed on the Foundation website.

Eligible organizations must download the nomination form from the Foundation’s website ( and return the completed form with photographs (in JPEG format) and any additional supporting materials NO LATER THAN JUNE 26, 2009 to the following address:

2009 CDEA Awards
Iowa Architectural Foundation
1000 Walnut Street Suite 101
Des Moines, Iowa 50309

or by electronic mail to

Entry forms and supporting materials will not be returned. Entry submission authorizes the Iowa Architectural Foundation to use names and images for publicity purposes.

The Iowa Architectural Foundation is a nonprofit charitable organization founded in 1989 to promote the contribution of architecture and community design to the quality of life in Iowa. The Foundation pursues its mission through youth education programs, architectural walking tours, an awards program, and community design charrettes.