Marion Named Preserve America Community

Eastern Iowa city is 11th named in the state

Posted by CC on July 18th, 2010 10:46 am

The City of Marion has been named a Preserve America Community, joining ten other Iowa communities in the federal Preserve America program. According to a July 12, 2010, press release, “Preserve America Communities are committed to preserving their past by using their heritage to build a better future,” said Wayne Donaldson, chairman of the federal Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP).

Iowa’s Preserve America Communities are:
Adams County
Coon Rapids
Fort Madison
Hardin County
Mason City
Sioux City

The Preserve America Community Program recognizes a select group of communities that use their heritage resources and share the myriad benefits of historic preservation with residents and visitors. The program began in 2003 and Preserve America Communities, great places to visit and explore, are now located in all 50 states and many overseas U.S. territories. Preserve America is administered by the ACHP with assistance from the U.S. Department of the Interior. For more information see and
To find out more, go to: